Halal Certification: How To Apply For Halal Certification

Company That Provide Kosher And Halal Certificate For Food Industries

Halal certification

How to Apply For Halal Certification:

Halal is a concept of the Islamic religion that means “allowed” and contemplates fundamental requirements of hygiene and health according to the Quran and Islamic teachings.

That is, a product is “Halal” when its elaboration, process, packaging and distribution complies with the rules established by Islam.

For a company to have this halal certification, its products must pass various audits.

Producers must also provide all the necessary documentation to demonstrate the viability of their systems in relation to the quality of their food production.

Additionally, various samples of the product are examined, during their preparation and when finished.

In addition, the workers involved are evaluated throughout the process, from the assassins to the distribution managers.

How To Get Halal Certification?

Obtaining halal certification is a relatively simple procedure.

Just make sure to follow the following steps of how to get halal certification:

  • Locate the accredited institution responsible for providing Halal Certification in the country where the company is located, for the market where wish to address.
  • Present a complete report of the product to be certified to analyze its composition, the manufacturing process, the packaging and transfer.
  • It is recommended that the report include ISO certificates obtained, recognition, quality assurance, registrations and licenses that allow the operation of the plant or premises.
  • A visit will be made to the factory where the products are made or to the establishment where the service is provided to verify what is presented in the report. If the company complies with the standards established in Islam, the company will obtain Halal Certification.

Obviously, there are certain restrictions, so the food producers should consider the following.

What products are allowed?

  • Of vegetable origin (vegetables, fruits, nuts, legumes, cereals, etc.) and their derivatives (oils, sugars, dyes, thickeners, flours, juices, etc.)
  • Of animal origin (herd animals and poultry) slaughtered according to the Islamic rite, and its derivatives (oils, fats, by-products, etc.)
  • Dairy products (cream, milk, butter, whey, cheese, yogurt, etc.)
  • Bird eggs and their derivatives
  • Honey and vinegar
  • Seafood (algae, shellfish, fish, etc.) and its derivatives (oils, gelling agents, etc.)
  • Non intoxicating drinks based on allowed ingredients.
  • Special products of plant origin such as enzymes, dairy crops, vitamins, etc.
  • Of mineral origin (calcium, salt, etc.)

What products are not allowed?

  • Pork and all its derivatives.
  • Alcoholic drinks (wine, beer, etc.) and its derivatives.
  • Blood and derivatives (protein, dye, etc.)
  • Animals and poultry that, being lawful, have died for a cause other than sacrifice, or have not been slaughtered according to the Islamic rite.
  • Animals and birds of prey.
  • Amphibians, reptiles, insects and their derivatives.
  • Intoxicating, hallucinogenic or addictive substances of any origin.

How should the marketing of these products be?

All “Halal” foods that are stored, transported, sold and / or served must be categorized and labeled “Halal”. They must also be separated and prevent them from being scrambled or contaminated with products other than “Halal”.

Packaging materials should be “Halal” as well. Likewise, artificial flavors should not be indicated by names similar to non-“Halal” products such as ham, beer, bacon, among others. This could generate confusion for consumers.

Transport vehicles must be appropriate for the transfer of “Halal” food and be dedicated solely and exclusively for those products. Complying with all health and hygiene conditions. Additionally, each container must be legibly labeled or labeled “Halal”.

FAQs about Halal products

Naturally, there is little knowledge about Halal certification. However, following considerations can help our clients.

Is it easy to find Halal ingredients for the production?

Inputs that are Halal certified are more common than one thinks. Frequently, their suppliers have already been certified. By this, food producers can usually get them in different places.

Why certify my product as Halal?

Muslims can only consume products “allowed” by the Qur’an and Islamic Law (Sharia). In other words, having this certification will open the doors of a potentially huge market.

Food producers just consider that the application of Halal regulations applies to all Islamic countries, including those in Southeast Asia (Malaysia and Indonesia), as well as the Muslim markets in Europe and the United States.

Then go ahead and look for certification, it is an easy process that can get food producers a significant number of customers.

Click on the picture to visit
Eatall Halal

Check out Kosher Certification