Kosher Certification: How To Apply For Kosher Certification

Company That Provide Kosher And Halal Certificate For Food Industries

kosher certifications

How to Apply for Kosher Certification:

As the primary and the secondary economic sectors grew, it also did the need to measure their products’ quality. Society’s curve of development lead to accepting, and even recognizing different markets, each with specific requirements. Celiac, vegans, vegetarians, lactose intolerants, Jews fit this category. People that can’t eat some type of food, for whatever reason.

That’s where certifications like Kosher become important. Its name comes from the Yiddish pronunciation of Kasher. Kasher refers to everything that complies with kashrut’s precepts. In Hebrews, it means “correct” and “pure”. It’s a term used on food that’s proper to eat.

What is Kosher Certification?

A Kosher Certification guarantees the Jew consumer that the product respects and follows Jewish alimentary laws. By this means, just by having this seal on food products, the company appeals to millions of people that only buy Kosher Certified Products.

The Process of Getting your Kosher Certification:

It consists of 5 steps of how to get kosher certification, listed below:

1. Application:

An application form is filled in the kosher’s official website, requesting the certification. Company information is given.

2. Coordination:

An expert kosher rabbinical coordinator gets in touch with the company to ask some primary questions and schedule a visit.

3. First Visit:

A certified kosher inspector attends the production plant. All processes and procedures will be detailed and inspected. Recommendations will be made. More visits could be scheduled if the inspector thinks it’s needed.

4. Contract:

A contract will be written, regarding payment, continuous fulfillment of the requirements and terms. Once it’s signed, that company is ready to receive the certification.

5. Certification:

The organization enters the kosher database. It now has legal permission to label its product with the distinctive Kosher Certification icon.

Also, after certification’s been achieved, an annual or semi-annual visit is scheduled to verify that there’s continuous compliance with the kosher requirements.

Kosher Certification Requirements:

First and foremost, it’s highly recommended that the company checks if their production process complies with kashrut’s precepts. As stated in kosher’s official page, some requirements must be fulfilled to get the certification. This is probably the most important step of all.

Kosher classifies food in three large categories: Meat, dairy products and Pareve. Each has some characteristics, as listed below. They are not optional.


Everything that has meat in its process of production. Shellfish, insects, rodents, wild animals and their derivatives are NOT Kosher.

  • Kosher meat must come from an animal that chews its bolus.
  • Kosher meat must have split hooves.
  • Torah includes domesticated species of chickens, chickens, ducks, geese, and turkeys as edible. Raptors and scavengers are not kosher.
  • All fishes must have their fins and scales.
  • All animals must be sacrificed by an expert shojet.
  • All animals must be sacrificed by shejitá. A clean and fast cut on the throat with a sharp knife.
  • The animal wasn’t sick at any point in its life.
  • The animal must not be alive.
  • The product can’t contain any fat from its vital organs.
  • The product can’t contain blood from the animal.
  • All meat allowed must go through a process called Melija. This, according to the shuljan aruj.
  • Every ingredient must be kosher.
  • Every single machine and tool used in the process must be kosher.

Dairy Products

This includes milk and its derivates. Food that has milk in its preparation.

  • The food source must be kosher.
  • Every ingredient must be kosher.
  • It can’t have any meat.
  • Every single machine and tool used in the process must be kosher.


Eggs, fish, fruits, vegetables, cereals, unprocessed juices, pastries, soft drinks, coffee, tea, and various sweets.

  • If processed with a dairy product or meat, it loses its pareve classification and it becomes the other.
  • It must be carefully cleaned and checked to remove insects and larvae, which are not kosher.
  • Eggs must be checked for dots of blood, which aren’t kosher.
  • Wine must be produced by Jews to be Kosher. All ingredients must be kosher, too.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

My product has a lot of ingredients, how hard is it to get its kosher version?

Most kosher raw materials can be easily obtained. An expert representative would help you obtain the raw materials that meet the organization’s kosher requirements.

Click on the image to visit

Check out Halal Certification